Skip to content

Drive By Shootings -A whole new meaning

February 4, 2010

Sean opened my eyes with his drive by shootings. It was a better use of the term. Sean talked about shooting (photographing) people as his car drove by the people, the slower the better. Using a car as a moving dolly works. This followed his photo distortions of evening photos taken in a moving car creating its own tracks, its own shadow in a Joseph coat of colors.
I have been trying that & fly by shootings, 1600 digitals in a flight from Tampa to Phila. The plane covers 10 miles a minute or 600 miles per hour, I think. Is my math right? But the plane is so high that the movement is hardly visible until one shoots 60 photos in 2 or 3 minutes…zooming in and out sometimes too…
Today : 1.An Anhinga was caught in 5 photos doing a FLY BY, 2 feet above the water and less. 2. Dolphins were captured in about 10 photographs as they performed a SWIM BY in the Pathlachascotee River…
hmmm…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 9:50 pm

    Thanks for the nice words Red. I enjoy our collaborations. Nice picture of the dolphin, it really is worth clicking twice to see it up close. I look forward to seeing the results of the fly by shooting.

  2. February 5, 2010 3:40 am

    Hy Mayerson more on “Fly By Shootings”
    Sean I have sent the 1600 Fly By digital images of Tampa to Philadelphia via Southwest to James Damiano, who is hell bent on giving them a musical score. James’ music has been closely identified with many of the world’s best known musicians. I’ll put up his “My Cousin JoAnn” to testify to that statement.
    In the meantime I’ll put up my second Anhinga Fly By. They are dimensionally different as the Tampa/Phila Fly By I was the Flyer. In the 2nd Anhinga Fly By , I am the Voyeur.

Leave a Reply

