Skip to content

Jim Croce – New York’s Not My Home

June 12, 2010

We arrived In New York City on March 16, 2010, 1500 miles after leaving Miami on March 12 at High Noon. We left Pennsylvania Station escalator to 34th Street about 8:45 AM to a cacophony of sounds,  sights and people. It was The Cacophony Society.

How we felt on entering New York City.

No one tells a story, musically,  better than Jim Croce, so we asked Jim to tell that story:

I can not help myself, please have a great time  go to:

www.croces.com

and hang out there for a while…

They have Croce Tee shirts , downloads and worlds of information on this Giant

of my time and legend for the ages.

I wore my Croce’s tee-shirt in the bar in Doolin Ireland the one night we were there.

They loved it. Many people told me they were going to buy it.

Hy

PS …More New York City  and Pennsylvania Station trivia:

This was shot a few hours ( note the shadows) before Sean shot his “Wait For Me” Moby gem.  Part of this video , i.e. the shot with the traffic officer’s ballet was shot at the same intersection as “Wait For Me” , 37th & 4th at Macy’s.   In that intersection, also visualized in this  video, we look from the same corner  as in the “Wait For Me” Moby Feat Sean video, but looking toward  the corner to our left.  The Sean Feat Moby film looks to the corner on our right… Both films were shot less than a block from Pennsylvania Station, the AMTRAK station made more famous by the Glenn Miller, Tex Beneke et al  1947 song: Chattanooga Choo Choo…

See Sean’s Feat with Moby filmed at The Macy’s Intersection in New York City.

So we left New York City

on March 16, to land in Dublin at 3:50 AM, St Patrick’s day. We had to hustle to get to Waterford to be in the Waterford St. Patrick’s Day Parade. Luckily David Deegan picked us up at the airport at that ungodly hour. David, you may remember, or learn, kicked off the Blazing Horse Festival when he introduced Elder Roche to the crowd not expected to arrive, for the most part, for several hours.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. brigitte permalink
    June 12, 2010 5:49 pm

    …kind of universal song; give me some time and I send you a response from Paris(early july should be ok)
    (is it accessible from youtube? can you send me a mp4 version, please? (i’ll send you my e mail addr through your youtube message section just in case it does not appear in this one).
    I love the lyrics, the guitar playing, the voice, ..good spontaneous pictures too. Thanks Hy; (Utterly sorry to hear such news about Joe, but what else could be done?)
    best regards,
    Brigitte

    • June 13, 2010 5:20 pm

      Brigett,
      I located your postal address, will probably forward you a USB flash drive.
      Return it with your stuff, please…???
      I have not yet posted to You Tube…
      Hy

    • June 13, 2010 6:48 pm

      Brigett,
      I await news from Paris.
      Hy

  2. June 12, 2010 7:18 pm

    Love that song. Thanks for making the video.

    • June 13, 2010 4:41 pm

      Barry,
      Thank you so much for the vote of confidence.
      I visited your web page.
      I would love to come fly with you some day.
      In the time , if you have flight videos, I would love to edit them.
      There is not a better tripod than a hot air balloon.
      Hy
      PS – Did you see my early videos from the WW2 US Navy Fighter Trainer? The music to one is Maury Muehlesien who plays the lead guitar in New York’s Not My Home, and in all of the other Croce masterpieces…

      • June 13, 2010 4:52 pm

        I haven’t. I have been sent a video of the Pottstown cruising that you did. I will check the WWII Trainer one out. Recently, I flew someone that wanted to do some filming of WV Township by air (Doug Everett) for the WVT Land Trust. I don’t know if it is a project he finished. Hopefully, we’ll see each other soon.

      • June 13, 2010 7:01 pm

        Barry, Re-reply,
        Now you have my full attention -merely mentioning the Kip Miller cover of Pottstown Cruisers- circa 1989-
        AND I play with Doug off and on through the decades… See Birchrunville.com, a site Douglas & I partner on. Doug did the video , decades ago,of Rich Fagan, doing “We’re gonna Have A Party Tonight. I plan on using a few of Rich’s Tunes ( million sellers) here…
        Lets do BV…Should we pick a date?

  3. June 13, 2010 5:21 pm

    Please note the additional commentary just added below the video…

  4. David Monteith permalink
    June 14, 2010 9:27 pm

    I see you and Barry Dilibero have hooked up! I have forwarded him some of your video work that I knew he would like. He and his wife Teri share many talents, and ar 2 of my best friends. You have a lot in common with him!
    As always, My best to you and your bride!
    Dave.

  5. July 27, 2010 9:46 pm

    Well, this has always been one of my two favorite songs of his, so it hit a soft spot for me. Again, the details did it for me. That one shot of the man getting into the cab (“That’s the reason that I gotta get outof here, I’m so alone”) was terrific. The earlier shot of the guy tugging the suitcase with the same lyric was equally as nice. Liked the opening claustrophia of coming out of the subway, too. Really nice how you captured the feeling of the lyrics without being maudlin.

    • July 28, 2010 1:36 am

      The man getting into the cab threatened Sean with his stick. I am pleased that you understood so well my intentions in marrying some images to words…
      I was much more oblique with the large video images on the wall faces in the night…
      BTW, I admire your music a great deal.
      Hy

  6. Bryan permalink
    August 13, 2010 11:19 pm

    I remember back in the 90’s driving around Birchrunville listening to Jim Croce. Everytime I heard this song, this video is exactly what I pictured as I sang along driving my 96 Dodge RAM 1500.

    I’ve got a name I think mentions the whispering pines….. the one section along Pughtown road down near camp sancanac has these high pine trees always swaying the the breeze.

    Birchrunville and Jim Croce go together like bread and butter.

    This video is an excellent capture of my mind’s eye for this song.

    • August 22, 2010 2:04 pm

      Thank you Bryan.
      Jim, Ingrid & Maurie indeed were central to a time period In Birchrunville.
      They hung out there, Maurie lived in Chester Springs with Judy and the Coffin boys, now all fine musicians.
      Jim & Ingrid would often play & sing at Jasper & Lindsey’s, then Melvin and Carol Lee’s, Upattinas, The Dome, Sky Farm & The Buss’

      I’ll have to check out the Pines near Camp Sancanac.

  7. August 25, 2011 6:57 am

    hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective intriguing content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

Trackbacks

  1. Miami To New York : Mid Atlantic States « Miami to New York

Leave a Reply

