Skip to content

Corned Beef & Cabbage Recipe – Baked French Toast, Ice Cream ,Apples n Walnuts, *******VIA: M2NY : March 13 2010******* – Train Passenger, Arlene Chanin Zankman discusses her Dad, a world class magician – The Man With the Magic Hands, & Food Art.

July 14, 2010

This is the second interview from the train ride from Miami to New York to be released.

Hy interviews Arlene Chanin Zankman of Pennsylvania. Arlene reveals what it was like to have a Magician for a Dad Jack Chanin, a world-renowned magician.

Chanin ran the oldest magic studio in Philadelphia, Chanin’s Studio of Magic, until 1981. Jack Chanin’s Book, The Man with the Magic Hands, may be purchased online.

Arlene also graced us with some delicious recipes. Enjoy below! Hy did not comprehend how delicious and unusual this French Toast Recipe really is…We will report back after we try this, can’t wait…Just edited this piece at 5:45 AM July 14,2010…so our chance to do the recipe begins later today, but alas, Colleen is in Florida, n Hy is too brain dead to do this alone…French Toast, Sliced Apples n Ice Cream between the French Toasts, Overnight it, walnuts, Bake eat it for a few days…

**********************************************

And from    ‘The Magic Cafe Forum”:

The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Flavors from the past… » » Jack Chanin’s Little Shop in Philly Printer Friendly Version
stephenbanning

Regular user
United States
178 Posts
Posted: Jan 3, 2004 1:35am Reply with quote View Profile of stephenbanning


Does anyone else have memories of going to Jack Chanin’s shop? I recieved some of my first props there 25 years ago. He had this little study where you would walk past doves and sit on a couch where he would demonstrate his egg bag, miser’s dream, dye tube, etc. He was wonderful. Earlier this year at a workshop with Cellini, I learned Cellini had been good friends with Jack and that Jack was actually a gypsy. He was so kind and quiet, I never knew he was considered a magical great until years later.
Dennis Michael

KIDabra forum Staff
Atco, NJ
5343 Posts
Posted: Mar 6, 2004 7:13am Reply with quote View Profile of Dennis Michael


Jack was a member of the now defunct Houdini Magic Club in Philadelphia. Yes I remember Jack well and he always carried a railroad spike!

His store intrigued me in that it was not organized but he knew where everything was!

In 1974, I sold most of my magic to Jack. I am now kicking myself because, I know now the value of those items.


Dennis Michael, Atco, NJ (856)768-2281
KIDabra Chapter #1
Facebook
Email: DennisMichael@KIDabra1.org
stephenbanning

Regular user
United States
178 Posts
Posted: Jul 20, 2004 4:38pm Reply with quote View Profile of stephenbanning


That’s interesting. What did the rail road spike do? A friend of mine said he used to visit Jack as well and that Jack would sometimes make the magic effect while the customer waited!
magiccarpet

New user

58 Posts

Posted: Sep 16, 2005 7:22pm magiccarpet is on-line Reply with quote View Profile of magiccarpet


I remember going up the stairs to his shop. I think it was on Walnut Street.
He made me up a special set of rice bowls using his own version.
magicHart

Regular user
Las Vegas, Nevada
132 Posts
Posted: Dec 24, 2005 10:30am Reply with quote View Profile of magicHart


Yep, the actual address was 1212 Walnut St. I first went to Chanin’s Studio in the late 50’s. Took the Reading Railroad into town from my home in Mt. Airy. What an experience, nothing was packaged, nothing seemed too organized, yet Jack knew where everthing was in a multitude of old chest of drawers.
He was a master at slight of hand, and would work wonders with his drawers of props.
I bought 5 tricks that first visit, a vanishing cigarette, sponge balls, flying saucers, a rope trick, and a color changing silk. He charged me $1.00 a trick.
You were taught by Jack, much of what he sold had no instructions…..other items were typwritten and mimeographed…they always contained the header….”from the private files of Chanin.”

God rest his soul!

JesterMan

Veteran user
Maryland, USA
315 Posts
Posted: May 26, 2006 4:14pm Reply with quote View Profile of JesterMan


I kick myself for not going there more often, although he was closed more often than not by the time I was able to get into Philly on my own. I went a time or two, and recalled the same ‘atmosphere’. In fact, I liked it so much that I often have the same ‘atmosphere’ chez moi.

I think I still have an old catalog from his store; older than me, I think.


JM 

Balloons, Magic, Mayhem & More!
www.AArdvarkEntertainers.com
www.JesterMan.com

“… destined to take the place of the MudShark in your mythology… ” FZ

Steven Conner

Special user

548 Posts

Posted: Oct 24, 2007 6:19pm Reply with quote View Profile of Steven Conner


Quote:


On 2004-03-06 07:13, Dennis Michael wrote:
Jack was a member of the now defunct Houdini Magic Club in Philadelphia. Yes I remember Jack well and he always carried a railroad spike!

His store intrigued me in that it was not organized but he knew where everything was!

In 1974, I sold most of my magic to Jack. I am now kicking myself because, I know now the value of those items.


Dennis, I nearly bought Jack’s Shop in 1976 when I got married. The only reason I didn’t was at the time, I thought Jack was probably the only one who could sell his stuff. I wish I had went ahead and bought the place. $17,000 was his asking price. When you think about U3F and then saw Jack do the same thing with huge 3″ saucers was really neat.

MerlH

Regular user
Carolina Shores, N.C.
184 Posts
Posted: Dec 20, 2007 7:22am Reply with quote View Profile of MerlH


When Jack would lecture, he did many things with a thumb tip. When he wnt to the explaination, the thumb tip was chrome plated! He made the point that a thumb tip never had to be seen so it didn’t matter if the flesh color was not “correct”


Merl Hamen Old dog– New tricks
Magicray69

Regular user
Ray Lucas
182 Posts
Posted: Aug 14, 2008 4:15am Reply with quote View Profile of Magicray69


Jack was probably the best ‘sleever’ ever. He made those cigars vanish and reappear and was always 3 steps ahead of you. Right when you thought you knew where the cigar was, he would drop that railroad spike onto the floor with a loud KLANG! Quite a character and he had a great oriental stage show. A magician’s magician for sure.


There was a time I had the blues,
the reason was I had no shoes.
Until I met upon the street
a man who had no feet.
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Flavors from the past… » » Jack Chanin’s Little Shop in Philly
One Comment leave one →
  1. Audrey permalink
    July 14, 2010 1:12 pm

    I have to admit, Colleen is the “French Toast Master”. She is the best at everything. This recipe sounds sinfully delicious. I’m going to try in myself.

Leave a Reply

